Republican primary ballot set in Anderson County

Thursday was the deadline for candidates to withdraw their names from the ballot for the May 3rd Republican Primary in Anderson County. In the primary, several incumbents are unopposed. They

Circuit & Criminal Court Judge Ryan Spitzer

Juvenile Court Judge Brian Hunt

Chancellor Nichole Cantrell

Public Defender Ann Coria

County Mayor Terry Frank

Trustee Regina Copeland

Sheriff Russell Barker

County Clerk Jeff Cole

Register of Deeds Tim Shelton

District 1 School Board member Jo Williams

District 2 School Board member Teresa Portwood

Incumbent Circuit Court Clerk Rex Lynch faces a challenger in the Republican primary from Lewis Ridenour.

Longtime Road Superintendent Gary Long faces a challenge for the first time in recent memory in the form of Brian Hutson.

General Session Division I Victoria Bowling is challenging General Sessions Judge Don Layton.
General Session Division II Judge Roger Miller is facing a primary challenge from Matt Tuck.

For the first time, the county elections will be partisan, with candidates having to declare a party affiliation, and this includes seats on the Anderson County Commission.

The district 1 candidates in the Republican primary are Harold Edwards, Ray Hagan, Rodney Jennings, and Tyler Mayes.

The district 2 primary will be contested between Steve Day, Michael Foster, Kimberly Meredith, and Denise Palmer.

District 3’s slate of candidates is made up of Charles Irwin, Lindsay Smith, and Shelly Vandagriff.

The district 4 primary features incumbent Tim Isbel being challenged by Amy Jones.

Incumbent District 5 Commissioners Robert McKamey and Jerry White are unopposed in the primary.

In District 6, incumbent Steve Mead is joined on the ballot by Anthony Allen.

Sabra Beauchamp and Steven Poppick will compete in district 7.

In District 8, Myra Mansfield and Jake Martin are vying for the Republican nomination to run in the August general election.

While there is technically a Democratic primary on May 3rd, county election officials say that no one chose to run.

About Brad Jones

Brad is the Owner/Operator of BBB TV 12, and has been with the company since August of 1996. Brad is a 1987 graduate of Coalfield High School and a 1995 graduate of the University of Tennessee College of Communications. He won the 1995 broadcast production student of the year award. Brad worked at Shop at Home, Inc. a home shopping network that was located in Knoxville, TN from 1993 - 1995 and then at Via TV (RSTV, Inc.) from 1995 - 1996. After some freelance work in Nashville, Brad joined the BBB Communications staff in August of 1996. A short stint at WVLT TV as a news photographer was in 2001, but he continued to work at BBB TV as well. Brad is married to Nicole Jenkins Jones, a 1990 graduate of Oak Ridge High School, who works at Oak Ridge Gastroenterology and Associates in Oak Ridge. They have 3 kids, Trevor Bogard, 27, Chandler 22, and Naomi 13. On December 12, 2013 they welcomed their first grandchild, Carter Ryan Bogard. Brad is also the assistant boys basketball coach at Coalfield High School for the past 11 years. In 2013-14 the Yellow Jackets won their first district title since 1991 and just the 4th in school history.

Check Also

Maintenance on Cove Lane Water Tank Scheduled from June 20 to July 5

Crews will be performing maintenance on the Cove Lane Water Tank, starting on June 20 …

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.